Five Steps from Guilt to Gladness

writing

At Halloween time I posted a video in youtube using a pile of leaves. The topic was “leafing” my negative thoughts behind. In the video I descibed a simple form of cognitive thereapy. Well… I had to use it today. I swear I was feeling guilty about EVERYTHING (I even felt guilty that our old car had a bad “check-up” yesterday…it must be my fault!) Everywhere I looked I could see my shortcomings and failures. Finally I got out my pencil and paper and (1)wrote what I was thinking then (2)how I felt about it then (3)asked myself “Can I actually know that is true?” (4) Finally when it was time to talk back to myself all I could do was stare and the paper and wish I felt better. (5) I then recalled my support team and turned to the page in my planner where I had the names of people I felt comfortable brainstorming with. I called Cindy. She helped me find positive somewhere in the rubble of the negative. I AM SO THANKFUL FOR THE TOOLS I’VE LEARNED. THIS KIND OF THINKING COULD HAVE KEPT ME DOWN FOR A MONTH OR MORE!! –

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Sharane  On January 30, 2009 at 5:40 am

    So glad you were able to find the positive in your situation. That can be really difficult sometimes. When I start having negative thoughts I can spiral quickly into a very unhappy person, and “If momma ain’t happy ain’t nobody happy!” It always helps to look for the positive, even if there is just a glint of it. Thanks for sharing!

    -Sharane 🙂

Leave a Reply

