I WANT to be thankful but…

stress-women1Years ago I attended an event where LaDawn Jacobs, former Mrs. Utah, said “One cannot be grateful and depressed at the same time.”

Her words stuck with me and through the years they have revisited me in various forms. A few years ago my daughter, Tiffany, created a beautiful “Grateful Journals” where she wrote 10 things she was thankful for each day.

As I tried to follow her example I found that I often found things that I WANTED to be thankful for, but I wasn’t yet.

After all, the bible says “Thank we God without ceasing…” 1 Thes. 2:13. It doesn’t say “Thank we God without ceasing—unless you are in the middle of a pity party, having a hard time or experiencing a less-than-cheerful mood.”

My daughter, Cindy, had a “want to be thankful for” day yesterday. Her day included going to the hospital with one child for 7:00 A.M. tests after only sleeping a few hours because Divit, the dog, kept itching herself, and waking up when Michael had growing pains and Tiarra had a fever. As her day continued she received a call from the elementary school to say that Tiarra’s temperature had reached 103.7 and she took her to the doctors carting 1 year old Joshua along. Later she dropped a mayonnaise jar sending a small piece of glass up to break the cell phone she was holding (what were the chances?) After all that she found out that her phone company wouldn’t cover the freak accident … well, you get the idea. It was nearly impossible for her to be thankful for all these things, so we had a prayer together over the phone and prayed “Lord, we WANT to be thankful for these trials, but we’re just not there yet!” Somehow I can imagine our loving Father smiling and saying “It is tough right now but someday it will sure make a good blog!.” Then bless her for her willingness to look heavenward despite her challenges.

And so I have my thankful sessions. Some comments are genuine “thank-yous” and others are “want to be thank-you’s.” as I take one more preventative step in my goal to STAY SANE (or at least appear that way. Haha!)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

