My Loved One Gave the Gift of Life

anonymous-donor3
By Patricia Potts
patriciapotts.com

(Wherever possible my loved one wishes to keep his gift anonymous, so in keeping with this request I will not disclose his name.)

He allowed another person to reach inside of him and take his kidney so that another person could have life.

Those who are closest to him saw him give 20 – 30 hours prior to the surgery so he could be interviewed, poked, prodded and tested to make sure his kidney would be a good match for the recipient. In the mean time, the recipient went through poking, prodding and testing as well as training so that he could learn how to properly take care of his new kidney so that the gift would not have been given in vain.

At the hospital following surgery, I visited him. He and others like him painfully moved their scared bodies along the hallways of the hospital to begin the long recovery process their priceless gifts required.

In addition to the donors, many recipients roamed the halls of the hospital. One woman beamed when I asked what she was doing there. “I received a kidney and also a pancreas! I am about to have a whole new life” she declared!

And so, as I plan, buy and wrap Christmas gifts this year I will reflect on my anonymous friend and his sacrifice. I also find myself remembering another loved one, my brother Jesus Christ. I remember His sacrifice, His pain and His scars. When I feel joy, energy or gratitude I know it comes from the new heart He gave me. May I remember my own training, take excellent care of that heart and thank Jesus for the gift he so lovingly gave me so that his sacrifice for me may not be in vain.
christmas-gift-of-light1<

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Heidi  On November 26, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    That was a sweet tribute, mom, to your “anonymous friend” 🙂
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

